An important message from UFCW Local 400 President Mark Federici:

We are committed to championing democracy both in the workplace and at the ballot box. Early voting has already begun in Virginia and we are in the process of casting our ballots for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, and all 100 seats of the House of Delegates.

Your voice will tip the scales in this election, and you hold the power to keep up the momentum of expanding workers’ rights in the Commonwealth. Now is the time to make sure we are electing pro-worker candidates who will get things done.

How you vote is a personal decision, but I hope you’ll join me this election in supporting pro-worker candidates. Below is our 2021 Virginia voting guide, which lists the candidates your union recommends you vote for this election.

We determined these recommendations only after an exhaustive process of getting to know each candidate, analyzing their records, and reviewing their positions on issues impacting you and your family. We strongly recommend you vote for these pro-worker candidates.

Whether you vote early, vote by mail, or wait in line on election day November 2nd, the most important thing is that you vote. As part of our union family, your voice matters. Do not let this election pass you by in silence. Please join me. Make a plan to vote. Make your voice heard.

Important Dates to Remember


Friday, September 17, 2021 Early Voting begins
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Voter Registration Deadline
5:00 p.m., Friday, October 22, 2021

Absentee Ballot Request Deadline

  • You can apply for your absentee ballot NOW
  • Ballots will be sent out by the state
  • Ballots returned by mail must be Postmarked on or before Election day (Nov. 2nd) and must be received by the Registrar by Noon on the third day after Election Day (Nov. 5th)
Saturday, October 23, 2021 & Saturday, October 30, 2021 In-Person Early Voting
5:00 p.m., Saturday, October 30, 2021 (last Saturday before the Election) Vote Absentee In-Person Deadline
Tuesday, November 2, 2021

Election Day

  • Polls open 6:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

UFCW Local 400 Virginia Voting Guide

Listed below are the candidates UFCW Local 400 recommends you vote for this November. They were recommended only after an exhaustive process of getting to know them, analyzing their records, reviewing their positions on issues impacting our members’ lives, and participating in state AFL-CIO meetings. Please note that for districts not listed, UFCW Local 400 has made no recommendation.

Office Candidate
Governor Terry McAuliffe
Lieutenant Governor Hala Ayala
Attorney General Mark Herring


Virginia House of Delegates
District Candidate
2nd Candi King
7th Derek Kitts
9th Bridgette Craighead
10th Wendy Gooditis
11th Sam Rasoul
12th Chris Hurst
13th Danica A. Roem
14th Rhett Dietz
15th Emily Scott
16th Chance Trevillian
18th Douglas Ward
21st Kelly Convirs-Fowler
25th Jennifer Kitchen
27th Debra Gardner
28th Joshua Cole
29th Delmara “Deetzie” Bayliss
30th Annette Hyde
31st Elizabeth R. Guzman
32nd David A. Reid
34th Kathleen J. Murphy
35th Mark L. Keam
36th Kenneth R. “Ken” Plum
38th Kaye Kory
39th Vivian Watts
40th Dan I. Helmer
41st Eileen Filler-Corn
42nd Kathy K. L. Tran
43rd Mark D. Sickles
44th Paul E. Krizek
45th Elizabeth Bennett-Parker
46th Charniele L. Herring
47th Patrick A. Hope
48th Richard C. “Rip” Sullivan
49th Alfonso H. Lopez
50th Michelle Lopes-Maldonado
51st Briana Sewell
52nd Luke E. Torian
53rd Marcus B. Simon
55th Rachel Levy
57th Sally Hudson
58th Sara Ratcliffe
59th Benjamin Moses
62nd Jasmine Gore
63rd Lashrecse Aird
65th Caitlin Coakley
66th Katie Sponsler
67th Karrie K. Delaney
68th Dawn Adams
69th Betsy B. Carr
70th Delores McQuinn
72nd Schuyler T. Vanvalkenburg
73rd Rodney T. Willett
74th Lamont Bagby
75th Roslyn Tyler
76th Clint Jenkins
77th Cliff Hayes
78th Melanie Cornelisse
79th Nadarius Clark
80th Don Scott
81st Jeffrey Feld
85th Alex Q. Askew
86th Irene Shin
87th Suhas Subramanyam
89th Jerrauld C. “Jay” Jones
90th Angelia Williams Graves
92nd Jeion A. Ward
93rd Michael P. Mullin
94th Shelly A. Simonds
95th Marcia S. “Cia” Price
96th Mark C. Downey
99th Linwood Blizzard II
100th Finale Norton