By turning out to vote and engaging in political action, Local 400 members helped propel many recommended candidates to victory in the November 3, 2020 elections.

While congratulating the winners, Local 400 also urged calm and patience so that all ballots are counted.

“We thank our members for their hard work in helping to elect many pro-worker candidates who have our backs,” said Local 400 President Mark P. Federici. “We look forward to working with them in Congress, our state Houses and City Halls, and elsewhere to protect our rights and improve our members’ lives.

“It’s equally important that we uphold the principle that the right to vote — and the right to have your vote counted — is sacred,” he said. “With the COVID-19 pandemic causing unprecedented numbers of absentee ballots, it is absolutely critical that every single one is tallied. Any attempt to interfere with this process and disenfranchise voters is undemocratic and must be stopped.”

At this time, the presidential race is too close to call, with absentee ballots being tabulated in several key states. But Local 400’s recommended candidates, Joe Biden and Kamala Harris are well ahead in the national popular vote and closer to achieving the 270 Electoral College votes needed to win than their opponents. “We are pleased the Biden-Harris ticket won handily in Virginia, Maryland and Washington, D.C., and are cautiously optimistic that we’ll have a pro-labor president and vice president come January 20th,” Federici said.

Here is a list of Local 400-recommended candidates and initiatives that have been declared victors so far:



U.S. House of Representatives:
District 4 Anthony Brown
District 5 Steny Hoyer
District 6 David Trone
District 8 Jamie Raskin


Ballot Measures:
Maryland Question 1, Legislative Authority over State Budget Amendment Approved
Montgomery County Question A, Property Tax Limit – Limit Tax Rate Increases Approved
Montgomery County Question B, Property Tax Limit – Prohibit Override Rejected



State House of Representatives:
District 98 Danny Bentley



U.S. House of Representatives:
District 2 Elaine Luria
District 3 Bobby Scott
District 4 Donald McEachin
District 7 Abagail Spanberger
District 8 Don Beyer
District 10 Jennifer Wexton
District 11 Gerry Connolly


Washington, DC


City Council:
At-Large Robert White
Ward 2 Brooke Pinto
Ward 4 Janeese Lewis-George
Ward 7 Vincent Gray
Ward 8 Trayon White


State Board of Education:
Ward 4 Frazier O’Leary
Ward 7 Eboni Rose Thompson
Ward 8 Carlene Reid

West Virginia


State Senate:
District 5 Bob Plymale
District 8 Glen Jeffries
District 9 “Bugs” Stover
District 13 Mike Caputo


State House of Delegates:
District 2 Phil Diserio
District 3 Shawn Fluharty and Erikka Storch
District 4 Lisa Zukoff
District 16 Sean Hornbuckle
District 17 Chad Lovejoy and Matthew Rohrbach
District 19 Ric Griffith
District 20 Nathan Brown
District 21 Mark Dean
District 25 Tony Paynter
District 30 Mick Bates
District 31 Christopher Toney
District 34 Brent Boggs
District 35 Doug Skaff
District 36 Larry Rowe and Jim Barach
District 37 Mike Pushkin
District 51 Barbara Fleischauer and Evan Hansen
District 58 George Miller
District 61 Jason Barrett


Races that at this moment are too close to call include, with recommended candidates in parentheses:

  • West Virginia Senate District 11 (Denise Campbell)
  • West Virginia House District 5 (Dave Pethtel)
  • West Virginia House District 16 (Mark Bates)
  • West Virginia House District District 26 (Ed Evans)
  • West Virginia House District 35 (Kathy Ferguson, Rusty Williams, and Kayla Young)
  • West Virginia House District District 43 (Bill Hartman and Cody Thompson)
  • West Virginia House District District 50 (Michael Angelucci, Joey Garcia and Ronald Straight)
  • West Virginia House District 51 (Rodney Pyles, Danille Walker, and John Williams)
  • West Virginia House District District 65 (Sammi Brown)
  • West Virginia House District District 67 (John Doyle)