A special message from UFCW Local 400 President Mark Federici

Your vote has never been more important. Elections have consequences — and the one taking place just days from now is the most consequential of our lifetimes.

During this pandemic we have been on the frontlines as essential first responders, putting our health and our families on the line. At a time when economic inequality is at record levels, our living standards are on the line. In an era when assaults on unions have never been more vicious, our right to a voice in the workplace is on the line.

I cannot say this strongly enough: Our vote is our power. Either we use it or we lose it.

If you’ve already cast your ballot through early voting or by mail, thank you. If not, please make a plan to vote now and carry it out.

Vote By Mail

Mail-in ballots must be postmarked by Tuesday, November 3, 2020, and received by Monday, November 9, 2020, to be counted. If you have already requested and received an absentee ballot, please fill it out today and drop it off at your County Clerk’s office by Monday, November 2, 2020.

Vote Early

Vote early in person at your county courthouse or judicial annex between Wednesday, October 21, 2020, and Saturday, October 31, 2020. You do not need to have a reason or fill out an application to vote early. Bring your mask and ID.

Vote on Election Day: November 3rd

Lastly, you can always vote in person on Election Day. Bring your mask and ID and be prepared to wait in line. Polls are open on Tuesday, November 3, 2020, from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Whatever method you use to cast your ballot, I hope you’ll give serious consideration to voting for the Local 400 recommended candidates and issues listed on the opposite side of this letter. On the basis of their past records and their campaign agendas, I can testify that each of these candidates will fight for your well-being and that of all working families on all the issues that affect your life, your livelihood and your family’s future. We have also looked closely at the ballot questions and have made recommendations that will increase the power of working people and make Maryland a more level playing field.

Your vote is your power.  Please exercise your right to vote and change our nation for the better. Thank you.

In Solidarity,

Mark P. Federici
President and International
Vice President

UFCW Local 400 West Virginia Voter Guide

Listed below are the candidates UFCW Local 400 recommends you vote for this election. They were recommended only after an exhaustive process of getting to know them, analyzing their records, reviewing their positions on issues impacting our members’ lives, and participating in state AFL-CIO meetings. Please note that for districts or questions not listed,
UFCW Local 400 has made no recommendation.


President Joseph R. Biden
Vice President Kamala Harris


U.S. House of Representatives:
Congressional District 2 Cathy Kunkel


Governor Ben Salango
Attorney General Sam Petsonk
State Treasurer John Perdue
Secretary of State Natalie Tennant
Auditor Mary Ann Claytor
Agriculture Commissioner Bob Beach


West Virginia State Senate:
District 1 Randy Swartzmiller
District 2 Josh Gary
District 3 “Robin” Wilson
District 5 Bob Plymale
District 7 Ralph Rodighiero
District 8 Glen Jeffries
District 9 “Bugs” Stover
District 10 Bill Laird
District 11 Denise Campbell
District 12 Doug Facemire
District 13 Mike Caputo
District 14 David Childers
District 16 Pete Dougherty
District 17 Andrew Robinson


West Virginia State House:
District 1 Jack Wood
District 2 Phil Diserio
District 3 Shawn Fluharty and Erikka Storch
District 4 Christian Turak and Lisa Zukoff
District 5 Dave Pethtel
District 8 Andrew Alvarez
District 10 Trish Pritchard and Luke Winters
District 11 Mark Pauley
District 13 Scott Brewer
District 14 Chris Yeager
District 15 “Tess” Jackson
District 16 Sean Hornbuckle, Dakota Nelson, and Mark Bates
District 17 Chad Lovejoy and Matthew Rohrbach
District 19 Ric Griffith and David Thompson
District 20 Nathan Brown
District 21 Mark Dean
District 22 Jeff Eldridge
District 23 Rodney Miller
District 24 Tim Tomblin
District 25 Tony Paynter
District 26 Ed Evans
District 27 Tina Russell
District 28 Ryne Nahodil
District 30 Mick Bates
District 31 Christopher Toney
District 32 Margaret Staggers and Mark Hurt
District 33 Larry Cottrill
District 34 Brent Boggs
District 35 Doug Skaff Jr, Kathy Ferguson, Rusty Williams, and Kayla Young
District 36 Larry Rowe, Amanda Estep-Burton, and

Jim Barach

District 37 Mike Pushkin
District 38 Nikki Ardman
District 39 “Woody” Holmes
District 41 Duane Bragg
District 42 Jeff Campbell and Cindy Lavender-Bowe
District 43 Bill Hartman and Cody Thompson
District 44 Robin Cutlip
District 46 “Bob” Stultz
District 47

Ed Larry

District 48 Richard Iaquinta, Rob Garcia, Josh Maxwell, and Ryan Deems
District 49 Mike Manypenny
District 50 Michael Angelucci, Joey Garci, and Ronald Straight
District 51 Barbara Fleischauer, Evan Hansen, Rodney Pyles, Danille Walker, and John Williams
District 52 “JR” Wolfe
District 53 Cory Chase
District 55 Jarod Shockey
District 58 George Miller
District 60 Brad Noll
District 61 Jason Barrett
District 62 Debi Carroll
District 63 Daniel Bennett
District 65 Sammi Brown
District 66 Storme Shiley Frame
District 67 John Doyle and Susan Perry